LibGuides: History Unbound: Home

History Unbound Project

History Unbound facilitates teachers’ ability to locate and review documents that support to the New York State K-12 Social Studies Framework and improve student preparation for the NYS Regents Examinations by pointing to the Library of Congress Primary Sets, New York Heritage collections and secondary literature including lesson plans, and web-based and regional face-to-face workshops on inquiry based learning.

Below, you can find tutorials, a custom search & index of available resources, and links to Primary Source sets.

On the tabs above, you can find resource collections by time period and subject, as well as educator resources including resources aligned to the Framework by grade level, lesson plans, and graphic organizers.

History Unbound Custom Search

Use this Google Custom Search Engine to find resources from:

Library of Congress
New York Public Library Digital Collections
New York Heritage
New York State Archives
Digital Public Library of America

Primary Source Sets and Resources

Library of Congress Primary Source Sets
Curated by LOC librarians, these sets built by topic and organized alphabetically contain image, document and audio files. All are downloadable and free for the educator to use.
Digital Public Library of America Primary Source Sets
Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use.
New York Heritage Digital Collections
The New York Heritage collections page allows the researcher to view the collection by main topics, time period, or keyword search by collection. Some collections have topics that are easily determined and some are named for their benefactor. Items from New York Heritage have been placed throughout the LibGuide according to their place in history. New York Heritage is a project of the Empire State Library Network.
Digital Collections from New York State Archives
A joint collection of the New York State Archives, New York State Museum & New York State Library, the collection can be browsed by topic or by sub-collection. It is also fully searchable. Depending on the item, the images will vary in ease of use and download quality.
The New York Public Library Digital Collections
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Haudenosaunee Guide for Educators
The Haudenosaunee Guide for Educators is designed to provide a deeper and more integrated understanding of Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) life—past and present. This guide can serve to enrich the New York State–mandated curriculum.
more...less...
For more educational resources from The Museum of the American Indian, visit Native Knowledge 360° at http://www.nmai.si.edu/nk360/resources.cshtml

Teaching with Primary Sources Grant Statement

History Unbound, the workshop and website, is sponsored in part by the Library of Congress Teaching with Primary Sources Eastern Region Program, coordinated by Waynesburg University.

When appropriating this guide to your school's LibGuide, please include the information below:

The compilation of these resources was made as part of the History Unbound Project. History Unbound, the workshop and website, is a project of the South Central Regional Library Council and is sponsored in part by the Library of Congress Teaching with Primary Sources Eastern Region Program, coordinated by Waynesburg University.