LibGuides: History Unbound: American Revolution

Revolutionary War Era Collections and Sets

The Constitution Library of Congress primary sources
Library of Congress Constitution Day Teacher Resources
Washington, Jefferson, and Lincoln: Three Great Presidents primary source set
Trial Pamphlets Collection (Cornell University Law Library)
While the description of the collection states it is from the 1600s to the 1800, many of the documents are for trials which happened right before and right after Independence.
Courtesy of Cornell University Law Library, Trial Pamphlets Collection.
Washington Crosses Delaware BtB Assessment
Like The First Thanksgiving, this assessment measures students’ ability to source a document.

NY Heritage Digital Collection | Recognizing Women's Right to Vote in New York State Women's Rights Activity from 1776-1848

Recognizing Women's Right to Vote in New York State Women's Rights Activity from 1776-1848

New York Heritage Material about the American Revolution

Burning of Coreorgonel by Colonel Dearborn, September 24, 1779

Senate House Collection
This collection includes items from the archival collections at Senate House State Historic Site, including a sampling of documents from the Colonial period and Revolutionary War.
Saratoga National Historical Park Collection
Provincial Exile: Roelof J. Eltinge's Banishment from the Paltz
This collection includes documents related to Roelof Josiah Eltinge’s legal troubles after being an accused loyalist during the Revolutionary War. It includes, among other items, his parole orders after being released from jail, the order exiling him from New Paltz, and his petition to the New York State Legislature to return home.

Hamilton-Burr Duel Collection

The Fenimore Art Museum has the correspondence between Alexander Hamilton and Aaron Burr on nyheritage.org. Click here to see the full collection.

Letter to Alexander Hamilton from Aaron Burr, June 18, 1804
N. York, 18 June, 1804
Sir:
I send for your perusal a letter signed Ch. D. Copper which, though apparently published some time ago, has but very recently come to my knowledge. Mr. Van Ness, who does me the favor to deliver this, will point out to you that clause of the letter to which I particularly request your attention. You must perceive, Sir, the necessity of a prompt and unqualified acknowledgement or denial of the use of any expressions which could warrant the assertions of Dr. Cooper."
I have the honor to be,"
Your Obt. Servt. A. Burr

American Revolution Artifacts and Images

Museum of the American Revolution

General Washington's original sleeping and office tent, parts of which appear in this early 20th century photograph, was carefully preserved by generations of the Custis and Lee families following the deaths of George and Martha Washington. (From the Museum of the American Revolution)

Haudenosaunee in the Revolution

Veterans Treaty - December 2, 1794
This is a transcription of the 1794 treaty between the United States and the "Oneida, Tuscorora and Stockbridge Indians, dwelling in the Country of the Oneidas".
The Constitution of the Iroquois Nations
This version is prettier for online reading, but more challenging to print than the one above.
Speech of Ten Oneida Warriors to General Clinton, Lake Otsego, July 5th, 1779
Speech of Ten Oneida Warriors concerning the relationship between the Onedias and the Continental Army during the Sullivan Expedition of the American Revolution.
"We Suppose you Imagine we have Come here in order to Attend you upon your Expedition but we are Sorry to Inform you that Our Situation is such as will not admit of it.
From Intelligence which we may depend upon, we have reason to belive [sic] that the Six Nations mean to embrace the opportunity of our Absence in order to destroy our Cartels, there accounts we have by Spys from among them, and we know that a Considerable body of them are now Collected at Cayuga for that purpose.."