Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This project is administered by the South Central Regional Library Council with funding from the Institue for Museum and Library Services.
War of 1812
War of 1812 Letters from the Young Men's Association
This collection features letters written during the War of 1812, as well as letters written after the war ended recalling war-time regional circumstances.
Collection owner: Buffalo & Erie County Public Library
War of 1812
This collection is drawn from a larger body of materials at the Buffalo History Museum that documents both the local and broader historical period during the War of 1812. Materials include original and published letters, journals, diaries, scrapbooks, reminiscences, news clippings, and other ephemera concerning the conflict from both a local and more general perspective.
Glen Letters Collection
Henry Glen was a Schenectady resident and formed a trading company with his brother John. During the American Revolution, Henry Glen was active on the side of the colonists in three Provincial Congresses and as Deputy Quartermaster General. These letters deal with Henry Glen's post Revolutionary War work and his involvement in the War of 1812.
Beyond the Bubble Assessments
Exhibits and Collection on 18th Century America
Cities in the Americas image set
This page directs you to the first image index of a larger online exhibit from the New York Public Library on the first big cities in the Northeast US including New York City, Baltimore, and Boston. Click on the "Cities in the Americas" logo in top left to view full exhibit.
Religion and the Founding of the American Republic
Hamilton-Burr Duel Collection
Fenimore Art Museum's Burr - Hamilton Duel Collection is comprised of the correspondence that passed between Alexander Hamilton and Aaron Burr (and their seconds, Pendleton and Van Ness) before the historic duel. The exchange of letters by the four participants -- Burr, Hamilton, Van Ness, and Pendleton -- preceding the duel took place from June 18 - July 9, 1804. Further correspondence and statements made after the duel, from July 11, 1804 to Mar. 5, 1805, by Burr, Van Ness, and Pendleton are also included in the collection. Included among the correspondence are accounts of the duel by Van Ness and Pendleton, the only living witnesses of the duel besides Burr himself.
Digital collection on New York Heritage.