Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This project is administered by the South Central Regional Library Council with funding from the Institue for Museum and Library Services.
Chemung County Digital Collections on NYHeritage
Big Flats and Chemung County Historical Collection
Photographs, postcards, and ephemera relating to the history of Big Flats and Chemung County.
Big Flats Historical Society Calendars and Publications
Calendars and publications focused on the history of Big Flats, NY.
Big Flats Historical Society Newsletters
Newsletters of the Big Flats Historical Society in Big Flats, New York.
Black Oral History Collection of Chemung County
This collection contains oral histories of members of Chemung County’s Black community, as well as whites involved in the Civil Rights movement.
Chemung County Atlases
A collection consisting of 2 early atlases of Chemung County (1869,1904) and 2 early atlases of the City of Elmira (1876, 1896). Each image in this collection is a full scale scan of the original items.
COVID Memory Project of Chemung County
Oral histories of Chemung County residents describing their experiences of the COVID-19 pandemic and related events.
Elmira City Directories
Directories for Elmira, New York and surrounding areas in Chemung County, including Elmira Heights.
Elmira College Historical Collection
This is a collection of photographs of Elmira College dating from the founding in 1855 through the mid-Twentieth century.
Elmira College Women’s Rights and Suffrage Collection
The Elmira College women’s rights and suffrage collection is an aggregate of records from the Elmira College Archives.
Eric Lindsay Memorial Postcard Collection
Historical postcards of Chemung County and Elmira, NY.
Floods of Chemung County
This digital collection derived from the Chemung County Historical Society’s archive and the Chemung County Library District’s collection, includes photographs, documents, video, and/or sound recordings about the floods that impacted Chemung County.
High School Yearbooks from Chemung County
This collection consists of High School Yearbooks from the Central library's and Chemung County Historical Society yearbook collection.
Mark Twain Collection
This collection consists of letters and marginalia of Samuel Clemens, artifacts associated with him and photos having to do with Clemens' time in Elmira and the family and friends that comprised his circle.
Overseas Relief Papers
This collection contains documents relating to the resettlement of displaced persons in the Twin Tiers following World War II.
Suffrage Documents of the New York State Federation of Women’s Clubs
The suffrage documents are a hidden collection within the New York State Federation of Women’s Clubs records.
Thatcher Glass Manufacturing Company Collection
A leading business in Elmira, NY for more than 80 years, Thatcher Glass once produced 50 percent of the milk bottles in the United States, pioneering sealed glass bottles and automated bottle production. The collection includes archival material such as design drawings, correspondence and other company documents.
Chemung County Newspapers
Chemung Directories & Yearbooks