Skip to Main Content

School Library System - Mock Book Awards (DCMO BOCES): Home

Annually the DCMO School Library System holds a workshop for school librarians and English teachers to help educators stay up-to-date with the best new YA and children's literature and to increase their skills in engaging effectively in collaborative disc


Randolph Caldecott AwardCaldecott Medal

The Randolph Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. During 2013, children's picturebook lovers everywhere celebrated the 75th anniversary of the Caldecott Award.

Learn more about the Caldecott Award


Michael L. Printz AwardPrintz Medal

The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association.  The award is administered by YALSA and sponsored by Booklist, a publication of the American Library Association.

Learn more about the Printz Award


John Newbery AwardJohn Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

On June 22, 1921, Frederic G. Melcher proposed the award to the American Library Association meeting of the Children's Librarians' Section and suggested that it be named for the eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. The idea was enthusiastically accepted by the children's librarians, and Melcher's official proposal was approved by the ALA Executive Board in 1922. 

Learn more about the Newbery Award



This project is administered by the South Central Regional Library Council.