Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This project is administered by the South Central Regional Library Council with funding from the Institue for Museum and Library Services.
NY Heritage Collections on the 1920s
American Legion Post 342
The collection consists of minutes from the William Clinton Story American Legion Post for the years 1919-1927, showing their recreation and charitable work.
Buffalo Ku Klux Klan Membership List
In the early 1920s, after decades of dormancy, the Ku Klux Klan was resurgent, gaining new recruits in the Northeast by using modern sales techniques in which recruiters received commissions for signing new members. Capitalizing on anxieties about "foreigners" and racial purity, the Klan found new members in locales with otherwise strong traditions of interracial progress and tolerance. Buffalo was one such city.
Calvin Coolidge at Paul Smith's College
Calvin Coolidge, the 30th President of the United States, spent the summer of 1926 at White Pine Camp in Paul Smiths, New York.
Charles Stoll Collection
Charles H. Stoll came to Hicksville on Long Island in 1909 becoming, at that time, the town’s second lawyer. He financed and made a notable expedition to Alaska in 1928, documented here.
Culinary Institute of America - 1920 Menus
A collection of menus from all of the states and over 80 countries, as well as ships, railroads and airlines, narrowed by search filter to the 1920s.
Curtiss Aviation Collection
Glenn Curtiss's Garden City factory was the first aircraft factory in the world to concentrate on new aircraft designs, rather than production. Between 1918 and 1931, Curtiss developed some of the best-known aircraft of aviation’s ‘Golden Age’ on Long Island.
The scrapbooks cover Rochester area radio news and events from 1922-1938.
High Falls Club Photograph Collection
The collection is comprised of black-and-white photographs taken between 1911 and 1927 at a cabin in the Adirondacks which was used for camping and hunting. The subjects of the photographs are High Falls Club members, their cabin, and hunted game.
Highland Hospital School of Nursing Scrapbooks
This collection of scrapbooks contains photographs of Highland Hospital, the doctors, nurses, and the nursing students during the 1920s. Many of the photographs are labelled with names and dates.
The Rochester Homelands Exhibition was part of a national response to the "red scares" after World War I -- encouraging familiarity with the traditional arts and crafts of the cultures of immigrants to the US, and welcoming ethnic newcomers to the Rochester community. The exhibition, held on the grounds of Exposition Park, was hugely successful, attracting a total of 160,000 visitors.
Jessie Bonnie Monroe Fashion Illustration Collection
This collection features sketches of female and male fashions, particularly in the 1920s and 1930s, as well as newspaper clippings about current fashion trends.
Quilt Patterns of Onondaga County, 1919-1923
This collection consists of patterns drawn to scale and finished with watercolor paints in order to imitate the colors of the actual quilts upon which the representations are based.
Rudolf Steiner Collection
Rudolf Joseph Lorenz Steiner (1861 - 1925) was known for many things, including being a philosopher and social reformer. He was the founder of an esoteric spiritual movement known as anthroposophy, which involved both spirituality and natural sciences.
Violetta White Delafield Mushroom Collection
Violetta White Delafield (1875-1949) was an accomplished amateur mycologist. She published several technical papers on fungi and created hundreds of annotated watercolors. This collection represents a series of watercolor drawings Delafield made at Montgomery Place between 1922 and 1926.
Yearbooks from The College of Saint Rose Archives
The College of Saint Rose was founded in 1920 by the Sisters of Saint Joseph of Carondelet as a Roman Catholic college for women.
National Collections of Primary Sources about the Roaring Twenties
Library of Congress: The Great Gatsby: Primary Sources from the Roaring Twenties
In order to appreciate historical fiction, students need to understand the factual context and recognize how popular culture reflects the values, mores, and events of the time period. Since a newspaper records significant events and attitudes representative of a period, students create their own newspapers using primary source materials from the Library of Congress online collections.
National Archives: Lesson Resources on The Volstead Act
In this lesson, students will be historians examining documents, trying to find out why "the great social and economic experiment, noble in motive and far reaching in purpose" as Herbert Hoover called it, did not work. Students should try to identify the changing values and cultural pressures at the beginning of the 20th century. How are these similar to and different from those we are experiencing at the advent of the 21st century? What can we learn from Prohibition? How can we compare it to our own war on drugs? What cultural movements are happening today that relate to this time in American history? Use these questions and others to guide your students through their research on this "experiment."
Collections and Sets on the Harlem Renaissance