Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Unbound: Reform 1800-1860

Anti-Slavery and Abolitionist Papers and Collections

The Missing Chapter: Untold Stories of the African American Presence in the Mid-Hudson Valley

American Colonization Society

"The American Colonization Society (ACS; in full, "The Society for the Colonization of Free People of Color of America"), ...was the primary vehicle to support the return of free African Americans to what was considered greater freedom in Africa."

History Unbound Participant Draft Lessons

Participants, Please upload your draft lesson plans here in whatever format you like. Thanks for all the amazing work you've done to make this Teaching with Primary Sources project a success!

Exploring New Amsterdam Through Letters

Library Support for using Primary Sources

Suffrage

Courtesy of the Cornell University Law Library.

American Authors in the Nineteenth Century: Whitman, Dickinson, Longfellow, Stowe, and Poe Teacher's Guide

19th Century Prison Reform Collection

 In the early to mid- 19th Century, US criminal justice was undergoing massive reform. The state prisons which had emerged out of earlier reform efforts were becoming increasingly crowded, diseased, and dangerous. Consequently, the “Auburn System” was developed in New York at Auburn State Prison and Sing Sing Correctional Facility. The reformers believed the penitentiary could serve as a model for family and education, so sought a system that was more rehabilitative than harshly punitive. 

Digital Collection from Cornell University Libraries

"I will be heard!": Abolitionism in America online exhibition

Regional integrated education institutions

Hidden Heritage - the story of Reverend James Murphy

The Gail and Stephen Rudin Collection on Slavery in America

The Rudin’s collection on the history of slavery in America is comprised of more than 500 documents, letters, and other items on the history of the sale, hire, purchase and debt payment of slaves in eighteenth- and nineteenth-century America. With his collection, Mr. Rudin sought to demonstrate how slavery was intertwined in the common economic and social practices of everyday American life, and with the goal that this terrible aspect of American history will be more fully revealed and understood.

Through estate appraisals, wills, manumissions, taxation and insurance records, slave auction advertisements, correspondence, engravings, and other records, the collection offers important insights into the institution of slavery in America from the eighteenth century through the Civil War.

Digital Collection from Cornell University Library

Dress Reform

This project is administered by the South Central Regional Library Council with funding from the Institue for Museum and Library Services.