History Unbound: Nation Divided

Correspondence among American abolitionists, including many letters to Samuel Joseph May, and diaries from 1859-1861 and 1865-1870.

This collection consists primarily of letters written by William Butler to his brother Edmund during the Civil War period from 1861 to his death in 1864. William served with the 69th Regiment of the New York Militia.

This collection contains photographs of New Yorkers who played a role in the Civil War.

Letters, photographs, and records about the Civil War.

This collection contains letters written by Union Army Civil War soldiers.

This collection consists of letters and a journal written by Charles F. Weller during his time as a soldier in the United States Civil War.

This collection contains manuscripts, including handwritten copies of regimental histories and individual personal histories of Orange County soldiers who fought in the Civil War.

The Francis M. and Henry H. Stone Collection contain twenty-one letters written by the two brothers while they were in the 27th Regiment of the New York Volunteer Infantry and the 1st Regiment New York Veteran Cavalry

A collection of Civil War-related documents pertaining to local Geneva residents.

This collection includes letters written by Captain Hiram S. Wilson, primarily to his wife Elizabeth during the period of 1861 to 1864. Captain Wilson served in Company H of the 93rd New York Volunteer Infantry.

Papers relating to Civil War veteran John R. Dixon’s service in the Union Army.

The Joseph H. Treyz Collection contains 149 patriotic envelopes printed during the Civil War.

A collection of the noted abolitionist newspaper, The Liberator, dating from the mid-19th century and Civil War era.

The Patrick Casey Collection consists of an autobiographical narrative and two diaries.

Commemorative ledger containing personal records, recollections, and cemetery records of local soldiers who served in the Ellis Post 52 during the Civil War.

A ledger containing records from soldiers who served in Ward Post 191 during the Civil War.

This collection contains documents created by or received by Schenectady County soldiers in the course of their service during the American Civil War, 1861-1865.

A collection of personal correspondence written during the Civil War by Union Soldier Edward H. C. Taylor.

The Ten Eyck Fonda Collection consists of twenty-six letters written by Fonda while serving as a telegrapher for the United States Military Telegraph Service during the Civil War, and one political campaign card.

This collection comprises a series of unmailed Civil War-era patriotic envelopes or covers that was presented to Union College by John M. Pearson. The patriotic covers featured in this collection primarily depict themes supporting the Northern or Union cause.

Papers relating to Civil War Union Officer William Henderson Baird and his family at the time of the Civil War.

A collection of letters written by William Suydam during the Civil War.

Documents relating to Frederick Willie and his service in the Civil War.

Library of Congress Teacher's Guide

Primary source set from the Library of Congress.

Letters to and from Anna Wilcox of Smyrna, Chenango County. 38 of the letters are from her male cousins serving in the Union Army.

Ingraham P. Smith Collection consists of forty-five letters and two medical documents. Smith, a resident of Middlefield, Otsego County, New York, served with the121st New York Volunteer Infantry, Company G. The letters, written to his mother and sister, range in date from December 03, 1861 to May 06, 1865.

Sixty-four letters written by Lewis Henry Brown, Lewis’ brother Burritt Brown, and Albert Ransom, Burritt Brown’s friend and tent-mate. They were residents of Binghamton, Broome County, NY. The letters, written to family members, date from 1861-1863 and 1865. The letters provide insight into daily life in the camps, troop movements, and military engagements, with mention of the First Battle of Bull Run, General McDowell’s advance on Fredericksburg and the siege at Yorktown, VA.

Guided tour through the lives and personal stories of African Americans in the Mid-Hudson Valley during the first half of the 19th Century.

This project, created in part by Cornell University, serves as a research aid, pedagogical tool, and a resource for genealogists by compiling the ads for runaway enslaved people. "Created to control the movement of enslaved people, runaway ads ultimately preserved the details of individual lives--their personality, appearance, and life story. Taken collectively, these ads constitute a detailed, concise, and rare source of information about the experiences of enslaved people."