LibGuides: History Unbound: First Nations of New York

Collections and Sets on First Nations before Independence

The First Thanksgiving
A HAT assessment from the Stanford History Education Group, which is accompanied by a Beyond the Bubble video.
Haudenosaunee Guide for Educators
From the National Museum of the American Indian.
HFL Native American Collection
This is a collection of dual language texts printed in Abenaki, Algonquian, Cherokee, Chinook, Choctaw, Cree, Crow, Dakota, Delaware, Eskimo, Haida...
more...less...
Hidatsa, Iowa, Kutenai, Laguna, Massachuset, Mohawk, Muskokee, Nahuatl, Narragansett, Nez Perce�s, Ojibwa/Chippewa, Oneida, Osage, Ottawa, Seneca, Shawnee, Siksika, Slavé (Tenni), Taensa, and Timucua languages.
NK360 Educational Resources from the National Museum of the American Indian
The Records of the Albany Commissioner of Indian Affairs, 1678-1755: An Integrated Digital Database
Sullivan/Clinton Map Sets
These map sets show the shifts in land claims and territories with period documents.
Thanksgiving Library of Congress Primary Source Set

Artifacts

Images from NYS Digital Collections

Artifact Collection from the National Museum of the American Indian
This link is to the search portal of the collection, where one can search by place or time. Warning: the collection is huge with many many artifacts and navigation is made easier by knowing either the type of artifact you are attempting to find, or by narrowing the search by time period. For instance, there were ~580 items from New York without limiting by item type or time period.

Onöndowa'ga:' (Seneca) Haudenosaunee Archaeological Materials, circa 1688-1754

This digital collection is a collaboration between archaeologists and librarians at Cornell University and Onöndowa'ga:' (Seneca) partners, including staff at the Seneca-Iroquois National Museum and the Seneca Art and Culture Center. The structure and content of the website were designed in collaboration with Onöndowa'ga:' partners. No sacred materials are included; everything shown was recovered from domestic portions of Onöndowa'ga:' archaeological sites.

Digital Collection from Cornell University Library

First Nations in the 19th Century

Materials from the Emily Howland Collection
Emily Howland (November 29, 1827 – June 29, 1929) was an educator, abolitionist, suffragist and peace activist, as well as a bank director. She taught at the Normal School for Colored Girls in Washington, D.C., established a school in Virginia for the children of freed slaves, and later served as owner and consulting head of the Sherwood Select school.

The old New York frontier; its wars with Indians and Tories

The old New York frontier; its wars with Indians and Tories
A 1902 book that gives a history of New York between 1661 and 1800. Although it has predictably problematic language, it covers the south central region of the state and may be used in the classroom to question the role of historians and to explore the difference of perspectives.

Rev. Gideon Hawley's Journey to Oghquaga (Deposit)

"Planting Christ in the Wilderness"
This 1753 journal from a missionary who traveled around the Susquehanna Valley and up to the Albany area recounts how relations between Native Americans and white settlers were. A page in the beginning notes topics of interest that are addressed in the diary, such as facepaint and travel conditions.

6 Nations of the Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) Confederacy

From Onondaga Nation: People of the Hills website: http://www.onondaganation.org/culture/homes

Onondaga Nation - People of the Hills
Nation website includes cultural artifacts, land rights documents, and video resources, as well as a nation timeline.
Cayuga Nation - People of the Great Swamp
Mohawk Nation
Oneida Indian Nation
Seneca Nation
Tuscarora People of the Six Nations
Oyate
Oyate is a Native organization working to see that our lives and histories are portrayed with honesty and integrity, and that all people know that our stories belong to us.
Ganondagan Community
Just southeast of Rochester, New York, in the town of Victor, lies Ganondagan (ga·NON·da·gan), the site of a Native American community that was a flourishing, vibrant center for the Seneca people.

Recognizing Women's Right to Vote in NYS | The Haudenosaunee

NY Heritage Digital Collection | Recognizing Women's Right to Vote in New York State: The Haudenosaunee

Image of Caroline Parker Mountpleasant. This image depicts Caroline Parker Mountpleasant, a Haudenosaunee woman from the Seneca people, in traditional dress circa 1850. Carolyn Parker's skirt and overdress appear identical to one in the Lewis Henry Morgan collection of the New York State Museum. Several daguerreotypes of Caroline in costume were taken around 1850, including one in which she is shown seated. Courtesy of the Rochester Museum & Science Center.

View item information

Cayugas in Constitutional Era

Beginning of Ithaca Water Color Painting
This view of the entrance to the Cascadilla Creek gorge shows the Warrior's Trail in the foreground. The trail entered present-day Tompkins County from the north and included a segment connecting Cayuga Lake to Owego Street (now known as State/Martin Luther King Jr. Street). This path was an early migration route for the Cayugas, as well as European traders and settlers. Norris wrote in detail about the Warrior's Trail in his 1944 book, Old Indian Trails in Tompkins County. The log cabin of Peter Hinepaugh, one of the first settlers in 1789, is shown on the left. The Little Pepper Mill at the creek had a capacity of 25 bushels a day. Quigg's Log Cabin Store is also shown. David Quigg was Ithaca's first permanent merchant.
The History Center in Tompkins County holds copyright and reproductions rights. Prior written permission is required for any use of this image.
Burning of Coreorgonel by Colonel Dearborn, September 24, 1779
Coreorgonel was a small village near Buttermilk Falls and home to the Tutelos and other remnants of subject tribes of the Cayuga Indians. In 1779, both the Cayugas and the Senecas, allies of the British during the American Revolution, saw their numbers massacred by General Sullivan's army expedition, who set out with orders of destruction from General Washington. Here, Norris depicts the village's fiery end by Colonel Dearborn's detachment.
The History Center in Tompkins County holds copyright and reproductions rights. Prior written permission is required for any use of this image.