LibGuides: History Unbound: Colonial Perspectives

Beyond the Bubble Resources - Colonies

The First Thanksgiving Assessment : Historical skills: Sourcing

The Signing of the Mayflower Compact : Historical skills: Sourcing

Seven Years' War : Historical skills: Contextualization, Sourcing, Use of evidence

The Virginia Company : Historical skills: Contextualization, Sourcing, Use of evidence

Early Maps of Exploration

map by Pieter Goos, approximately 1616-1675

Maps from the World Digital Library - LOC Primary Source Set
Maps From The World Digital Library Teacher's Guide
[Map of the coast of Virginia in 1585]
Illus. in: Admiranda narratio, fida tamen, de commodis et incolarvm ritibvs Virginiæ [...]. Wecheli : svmtibvs T. de Bry, 1590.

The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA)

The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century from Cornell University Libraries. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance.

Colonial Manuscripts from Historic Huguenot Street

This collection includes archival documents relating to the early development of New Paltz, NY, settled by Huguenot immigrants from northern France in 1678. Types of records include wills, receipts, contracts, town tax lists and meeting minutes, and family letters, written in French, Dutch, and English, primarily concerning the financial and legal activities of the first few generations of the town. English translations of foreign-language items are provided.

Digital Collection on New York Heritage

Hispanic Exploration in America

Primary Source Set: Spanish and Portuguese Exploration in the Americaa
Exhibit: Parallel Histories: Spain, the U.S., and the American Frontier
A bilingual, multi-format English-Spanish digital library site that explores the interactions between Spain and the United States in America from the fifteenth to the early nineteenth centuries.
more...less...
A cooperative effort between the National Library of Spain, the Biblioteca Colombina y Capitular of Seville and the Library of Congress, the project is part of the Library of Congress Global Gateway initiative to build digital library partnerships with national libraries around the world.
Exhibit: 1492: An Ongoing Voyage
This exhibit examines the first sustained contacts between American people and European explorers, conquerors and settlers from 1492 to 1600.
Exhibit: The Hispanic and Portuguese World: Encounters in America
An illustrated guide to the Hispanic and Portuguese collections at the Library of Congress, with context provided.
Doc Chat Ep. 40: Columbus’s 1493 Letter on His First Voyage, Teaching a Troubled Treasure
A short conversation with NYPL professional librarians about using Columbus's first report back to Spain in the classroom.

Early American Colonies

Religion and the Founding of the American Republic

Religion and the Founding of the American Republic - LOC Exhibit
American as Refuge: The Seventeenth Century
more...less...
Encompassing over 200 objects including early American books, manuscripts, letters, prints, paintings, artifacts, and music from the Library's collections and complemented by loans from other institutions, Religion and the Founding of the American Republic explores the role religion played in the founding of the American colonies, in the shaping of early American life and politics, and in forming the American Republic.
Penn's Frame of Government
NYPL digital gallery full image version of book.
Digital Witchcraft Collection - Cornell University
While this collection is housed as part of the European History Collections of the Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, it has many works on the colonies including Salem, Massachusetts. To uncover these, browse by Title.