Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This project is administered by the South Central Regional Library Council with funding from the Institue for Museum and Library Services.
Regional images of Post-Civil War Era
Mary was not well-acccepted in the USA, but became a very successful and popular sculptress in Europe. Her pieces were much sought after, and among her works are "Freedwoman", "Marriage of Hiawatha", "Dying Cleopatria", and various protraits. The McGraw Historical Society holds copyright and reproductive rights. Prior written permission is required for any use of the image.
National Collections About Post-Civil War US
New York State Collections About Post-Civil War US
Albion Winegar Tourgee Collection (Chautauqua County Historical Society)
Albion Tourgée: son of immigrants, college graduate, Civil War veteran, husband, father, lawyer, judge, author, editor, diplomat, and activist. The historical evidence of Tourgée's life and career provides a picture of a man who sincerely believed in and advocated for equal rights for all citizens.
Buffalo Ku Klux Klan Membership List (Buffalo History Museum)
Collection includes a 32 page directory of Buffalo Ku Klux Klan members from 1924-1925.
Daniel Lamont Correspondence (McGraw Historical Society)
Daniel Scott Lamont (February 9, 1851 – July 23, 1905) was the United States Secretary of War during Grover Cleveland's second term.
Frances Folsom Cleveland Collection (Wells College)
Material about first lady Frances Folsom Cleveland, a Wells College alumna.
A History of Social Welfare (Cornell University)
Includes editions of The Crisis, as well as other monographs of the time.
Northern Survey Company, Albany, NY (Crandall Public Library)
Photographs of houses, farms, businesses, and public buildings from 1878 to 1900.
Willard Asylum Scrapbooks (Edith B. Ford Memorial Library)
Two scrapbooks covering an asylum in the Finger Lakes region, 1872 - 1894.
Historic African American Newspapers Online
Regional Newspapers Covering 1870-1900